Planning Commission

About the Commission

The Planning Commission was established in January 1961, after being created by the County Commissioners pursuant to the authority granted in Article 66B of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

The Planning Commission has the powers necessary to enable it to fulfill its functions, promote planning and execute the functions of Article 66B. The Commission makes and approves plans they recommend to the Board of County Commissioners for adoption.


They meet the 2nd Thursday of every month and on an as-needed basis for special meetings.


MemberDate AppointedTerm Expiration
Teddy BakerJanuary 1, 2020December 31, 2024
Kathy DeoudesJuly 29, 2020December 31, 2020
Sharon Dobson, Vice ChairJanuary 1, 2014December 31, 2023
Arthur EbersbergerJuly 29, 2020December 31, 2022
Tom JacksonJanuary 1, 2017December 31, 2021
Tom Leigh, SecretarySeptember 24, 2013December 31, 2021
Jeffrey Reiss, ChairmanJune 25, 2013December 31, 2024
  • Planning Commission Attorney: Christopher F. Drummond, Esquire
  • Assistant Planning Commission Attorney: Sharon Brinster, Esquire
  • Clerk: John E. Shelton

Looking for volunteers:

The Queen Anne’s County Commissioners are looking for county citizen volunteers to fill an upcoming vacancy on the Planning Commission.  Anyone interested in serving is encouraged to send a letter of interest and a brief resume to or via mail to Lynda Thomas, 107 N. Liberty Street, Centreville, MD 21617. Those with questions may also reach Ms. Thomas at 410-758-4098. Deadline for submissions will remain open until filled.