News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/18/2023 9:12:11 AM to 10/1/2023 12:00:11 AM.

News Flash

County News

Posted on: May 18, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Character Counts! Volunteers Make a Positive Impact on QAC Youth

Character counts! volunteers make a positive impact on qac youth

Character Counts! Volunteers Make a Positive Impact on QAC Youth

For twenty-three years in Queen Anne’s County, the Character Counts! Initiative has worked to increase character education by offering resources, training, and information about the Six Pillars of Character: Trustworthiness, Respect, Responsibility, Fairness, Caring and Citizenship. The initiative has consistently shown increases in student attendance, academic achievement, positive behavior choices, and a more positive sense of self and future. 

All school year, volunteer character coaches have been visiting local classrooms to share lessons on the Commissioner proclaimed, “Pillar of the Month”. This year, the program had 69 coaches that volunteered in 110 classrooms. In recent years the program focused on elementary students. However, this year a pilot program found great success at Stevensville Middle School.

Training to become a coach will happen this August and September. Volunteers only need to commit to less than an hour a month, which works out to two 15-minute lessons a month. If you would like to participate, visit to learn more.

As the school year winds down, please join us in thanking our coaches for making a positive impact on the youth in Queen Anne’s County!


Kelsie Hart

Jarnell Foster

Kerry Harris   

Patti Ruocco   

Amanda Fasig 

Terri Paddy     

Jennifer Vann 

John Daniel     

Rick Caporin  

Jody Simmons 

Carla Pullen    

Debra Hopkins            

Robyn Affron 

Shawna Payne             

Christina Funk 

Andrea Jarrard 

Carrie Comegys          

Rhonda Knotts            

Lance Richardson       

Fred Sherriff   

Linda Culp      

Leigh Darrell (Dillon) 

Erin Baker      

Melissa Rochester      

Erin Schweinsburg     

Kelly Huber    

Catherine Gustafson   

Chris Perkins  

Abbie Smith   

Patricia Kenneally      

Lyn Smith       

Marci Robertson         

Kristin Meise  

Emily Hubis                

April Marrazzo           

Anna Ratel      

Brittany Augustyniak 

Courtney Mourlas      

Rebecca (Becca) Verbos

Jessica Alvarez           

Jena Anthony  

Susan Klepper 

Lara Schroeder           

Rick Caporin  

Mike Clark      

Sam Stanton   

Fred McNeil   

Lona Sue Todd           

Hannah Parks  

Mollie Flounlacker     

Ashley Luecking        

Jay Kenty        

Chad Yancey  

Jodi Peria        

Arielle Huettner          

Amber Bowles            

Brett Wishart  

Jeannie Monroe          

Carolyn Walls 

Martha Anthony         

Lisa Walls      

Lauren Ostrowski       

Amy Guercio  

Brianna (Bree) Lentell

Leslie O'Flahavan       

Sara Campbell 

Jay Walls        

Denise Jones   

Courtney Sabol           

Connie Dean   


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Dec meeting

QAC Planning Commission December Meeting

Posted on: November 30, 2023 (16)

County Commissioner Meetings in December

Posted on: December 1, 2023

Asian Tiger Mosquito Control

Posted on: October 24, 2023
Copy of May is

Building Safety Month — May 2023

Posted on: May 25, 2023
Mobile Integrated Health Team

Mobile Integrated Health Team

Posted on: March 17, 2023