News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/2/2015 12:03:31 PM to 10/2/2015 12:10:00 AM.

News Flash

County News

Posted on: September 2, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Barbara Sutherland, of Kent Island High School is a Finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year!

Barbara Sutherland.jpg

Barbara Sutherland, of Kent Island High School is a Finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year!



BALTIMORE (September 2, 2015) – State Superintendent of Schools Lillian M. Lowery today announced the names of seven finalists for 2015-2016 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

“Maryland teachers are among the nation’s finest, and the work of these outstanding finalists represents the sparkling creativity and energy found in classrooms through the State,” said Dr. Lowery. “Maryland’s teachers offer our students world-class instruction, providing a passport to their future success.”

The finalists are: Dr. Stephanie Marchbank, Allegany County; Jennie Merrill, Anne Arundel County; Ryan Kaiser, Baltimore City; Amanda Portner, Frederick County; Stephanie Geddie, Howard County; Barbara Sutherland, Queen Anne’s County; and Sally Irwin, Washington County.

The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, parents and higher education. Finalists were measured against a rigorous set of national criteria that include teaching philosophy and results, community involvement, knowledge of general education issues, and suggestions for professional and instructional improvement.

The 2015-2016 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced during a gala reception and dinner at Martin’s West in Baltimore on October 9. The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a new car valued at more than $25,000, donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Copy of May is

Building Safety Month — May 2023

Posted on: May 25, 2023
Mobile Integrated Health Team

Mobile Integrated Health Team

Posted on: March 17, 2023
Swearing in of the County Commissioners

Queen Anne's County Commissioners

Posted on: December 9, 2022
Ride FREE in 23 (3)

Ride FREE in 23!

Posted on: December 7, 2022
Haz Mit plan update website

DES Updates Hazard Mitigation Plan

Posted on: December 6, 2018